A Le Mans Prototype (LMP) is the type of sports car used to compete in a multitude of races and championships, such as the 24 Hours of Le Mans, FIA World Endurance Championship, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, European Le Mans Series and Asian Le Mans Series.

Le Mans Prototypes were created by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO). The technical requirements for an LMP include bodywork and cover all mechanical elements of the car.


The FIA World Endurance Championship is currently one of the most exciting championships in the world! The FIA WEC is organised by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) and sanctioned by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA).

The series supersedes the ACO's former International Le Mans Cup which began in 2010, and is the first endurance series of world championship status since the demise of the World Sportscar Championship at the end of 1992.

The World Endurance Championship name was previously used by the FIA from 1981 to 1985.


The inaugural FIA World Endurance Championship was held in 2012, featuring eight rounds across the globe with the 24 Hours of Le Mans forming the centrepiece.

The timing was perfect, with Audi and Peugeot set to compete for a genuine manufacturers’ world championship and Toyota returning to the fold for the first time since the early 1990s. However, shortly before the season was due to kick off at Sebring, Peugeot dropped a major bombshell by withdrawing all of its motorsport programs.

It seemed as if the FIA WEC could be doomed to failure before it had even started, but, building on the success of the ILMC, the FIA WEC has gone from strength to strength since that tough first season.

Since then, the FIA and the ACO have attempted to establish the World Endurance Championship as an independent series.

Season 9 saw the brand new Le Mans Hypercar replace the top tier LMP1 category.

The seven races, to be run in Europe, Asia, Middle East and America, allowing the WEC’s manufacturers, teams and partners true intercontinental visibility at well-established venues in key regions around the world.


Held for the first time in 1923, the 24 Hours of Le Mans is the oldest and most prestigious endurance racing event in the world. The event represents one leg of the Triple Crown of Motorsport, other events being the Indianapolis 500 and the Monaco Grand Prix.

Unlike fixed distance races where the winner is determined by minimum time, the 24-Hours of Le Mans awards a win to the car that covers the greatest distance in 24 hours.

History was made in 2021 as not only did Team WRT make their debut entry into the FIA World Endurance Championship, the Belgian squad claimed the LMP2 championship title with their Oreca 07.


Jonas Vanpachtenbeke

Jonas joined WRT in 2019 and he was a Program Manager for the team in DTM (2020). In 2021 he took on the role of Program Manager for the Team WRT in FIA WEC. His career in Motorsport started back in 2011 when he worked for the Marc VDS team as a Performance Engineer.

From 2012 to 2015 Jonas worked as a Race Engineer for the Mercedes Benz team HWA within the DTM, and continued as a Race Engineer, developing the Mercedes Benz AMG GT3 car and providing worldwide performance support until 2019.

Sebastien Viger
Sebastien Viger

The Technical Director for Team WRT in FIA WEC program is Sebastien Viger. Coming from Isat school in 2009. Sebastien started as a Data Engineer winning the GP2 championship with ART Grand Prix and Nico Hulkenberg in 2009. Sebastien carried out Race Engineer and Technical Director roles between 2010-2017 in GP2/F2, winning the driver championship in 2013 with Fabio Leimer and he also achieved multiple team championship podiums.

From 2017 to 2019 Sebastien was a Program Manager and Technical, responsible for the GT program at WRT . In 2020 he was a Technical Director for the WRT in their DTM program.


The Sporting Director of LMP2 program, Thierry Tassin joined WRT in 2014. Thierry is a former racing driver and his main wins are four-times winner of the 24 Hours of Spa Francorchamps (1983, 1986, 1994, 1996) and two-times winner of the Belgian Procar (1994, 1995).