On an international level, WRT represents Audi Sport as an official Audi factory team since 2011 with the Audi R8 LMS GT3: GT racing in the Intercontinental GT series as well as in the GT World Challenge Europe Powered by AWS for Europe and Asia.


In 2010 the team won the Belcar Drivers' and Teams' Championships, while in 2011 they won the Spa 24 Hours. After winning multiple titles in various GT championships, WRT is considered to be one of the best teams worldwide in GT racing.

Upon the team's founding in late 2009, WRT purchased three Audi R8 LMS race cars as part of being one of the official Audi Racing teams. The trio of cars shared duties in 2010 between the national Belcar Endurance Championship, the French FFSA GT Championship (now GT Tour), and the mid-season Spa 24 Hours. The team had success from the start, finishing on the podium with at least one car in every Belcar race including two wins by Gregory Franchi and Anthony Kumpen and a third victory in a ten-hour endurance race at Circuit Zolder with François Verbist, Bert Longin, and Bill Bailly. Franchi and Kumpen locked up the Drivers' Championship and WRT secured the Teams' Championship.

Following their first year's success, WRT expanded their program for 2011 by adding the FIA GT3 European Championship[3] and Blancpain Endurance Series to the schedule for their Audis. Once again success came early as WRT won the second of two races in the first event of the FIA GT3 Championship with Franchi partnering Enzo Ide. Their GT Tour program under the title of Team Audi France with French drivers David Hallyday and Stéphane Ortelli also earned its first victory for the team at Dijon-Prenois. In July WRT won the Spa 24 Hours in only their second attempt, with Franchi sharing the drive with factory Audi drivers Timo Scheider and Mattias Ekström.

WRT announced further expansion of their program in 2012 with accepted entries in the FIA GT World Championship as the representatives of Audi. The team went on to finish third in the Teams standings, winning three races on the way. In 2013 WRT won both the Teams' and Drivers' Championship of the newly named FIA GT Series.

In 2014 WRT competed both in the Blancpain Endurance Series and Blancpain Sprint Series, successor of the FIA GT Series. They won both the Teams' and Drivers' Championship in the Blancpain GT Series as well as in the Blancpain Endurance Series. They also won the Teams' Championship in the Blancpain Sprint Series. In July 2014 they added a second win in the Spa 24 Hours with Laurens Vanthoor, René Rast and Markus Winkelhock at the wheel of an Audi R8 LMS. In 2015 they again won both Teams' and Drivers' championships in the Blancpain GT Series. They were also crowned Teams' Champions in the Sprint and Endurance Series. In May of 2015 WRT achieved another major success by winning the 24 Hours of Nürburgring with the new version of the Audi R8 LMS (GT3).

In 2016 Team WRT was again an absolute top formation, where it became champion in the Drivers’ and Teams’ Sprint Series championship and finished as runner-up in the endurance Teams’ championship and Teams’ overall championship.

In April 2017 the team won its first GT title of the year by winning the Saudi GT Championship Drivers’ ranking. Then in May there was a third place at the 24 Hours of Nürburgring. And by the end of the year again achieved great success in the final standings of the Blancpain GT Sprint Series championship, where it achieved both the first and second place in the Drivers’ championship and the Teams’ championship.

In 2018 WRT won the Bathurst 12 hour race with the Audi R8 LMS GT3 and one more time became the first and second in the Teams’ Sprint Cup championship and second in the overall Teams’ championship.

In 2019 the Belgian squad added another of the “Big Ones” to its roll of honour, as the Audi Sport Team WRT took a triumphant win at the Suzuka 10 Hours and gave Audi its first international victory. Earlier, in the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, Team WRT crossed the finish line in 3rd.

Team WRT repeated its success in 2020, finishing again in 3rd at the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, as well as 3rd in the Dubai 24 Hours. By the end of the year in the final standings of the GT World Challenge Europe championship, the team achieved the first place in the Drivers’ and Teams’ Sprint Cup championship, runner-up in the GTWCE Sprint Cup Team’ ranking Silver Cup and 3rd in the Drivers’ ranking. And also Team WRT became the overall champions of the GT World Challenge Europe in the Teams’ ranking, as well as a runner-up in Drivers’ overall.


The GT Program is managed by Elliot Hoffet and Kurt Mollekens with a Project Manager Maxime Bonnefoy. Sebastien Viger is a Technical Director. The Sporting Directors are Pierre Dieudonné and Thierry Tassin. Within the team WRT employs Race and Data Engineer as well as a team of experienced mechanics.

Elliot Hoffet

Before WRT, Elliot worked as a Data Engineer at Oreca on LMP2 car and Data Engineer at Tech1 Racing on Formule Renault 2.0 Eurocup.

Kurt Mollekens

Kurt is a former racing driver (1990-2011), whose main achievements include winning the 1992 Benelux F.Ford Championship, the 1996 Marlboro Masters of F3, and the Spa 24 Hours in 2000 (Peugeot 306) and 2009 (Corvette C6R). Simultaneously, he ran his own KTR team from 1995 to 2014, first in British F3, then FIA F3000, World Series by Nissan/Renault and FR2.0. In the latter category he ran drivers such as Stoffel Vandoorne and Alex Albon. Kurt knows WRT well, as he raced for the team in French GT in 2010, and shared an Audi R8 with team owner Yves Weerts in some European GT3 events in 2011.

Maxime Bonnefoy

Maxime started his motorsport career back in 2010 with several Experience as a mechanic and Tyre Man. He was working in Pescarolo Team, ART GP and AF Corse and after that he was working on single seater development in GP2 Motorsport. Maxime Bonnefoy joined WRT in 2018 and started as Data Engineer in the FIA WTCR. Then he moved on GT Program. In 2020 Maxime continues to work in GT program and he is now a GT Project Manager.

Sebastien Viger
Sebastien Viger

Coming from isat school in 2009. Sebastien started as data engineer winning the gp2 championship with art grand prix in 2009 with nico hulkenberg. Race engineer and technical director in racing engineering from 2010 to 2017 in gp2/f2, winning the driver championship in 2013 with fabio leimer and being on the team championship podium several times. From 2017 to 2019 sebastien was a program manager and technical responsible for the gt3 program in wrt. In 2020 he was a technical director for the team wrt in dtm program

Pierre Dieudonné
Pierre Dieudonné

The Sporting Director Pierre Dieudonné is Master of Science (Mechanical Engineering) – 20 years as pro racing driver (1970-1991) – over 25 years in motorsport managing roles and as sporting director (mainly with ORECA and WRT). Career highlights are FIA European Touring Car champion (1976 – BMW 3.0 CSL), Winner 24 Hours of Spa (1981 – Mazda RX-7), 4 class wins and 6 top-10 places at the 24 Hours of Le Mans (BMW 3.0 CSL, Ferrari 512BB and Group C Mazdas).

Thierry Tassin
Thierry Tassin

Thierry Tassin joined WRT in 2014. Thierry is a former racing driver and his main wins are 4 times winner of the 24 Hours of Spa Francorchamps (1983, 1986, 1994, 1996) and 2 times winner of the Belgian Procar (1994,1995).